Network Governance

The governance structure of the CFRN has been designed to provide and ensure effective research planning, research delivery, management, financial control and accountability, and interaction among all actively committed members and partners of this complex inter-disciplinary and multi-institutional network.



Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is responsible for the overall management of the Network, including but not limited to financial matters, compliance with relevant NSERC, government, and university policies, and the addition of new researchers and research partners.


Christian Brun Executive Secretary, Maritime Fishermen’s Union
David Decker Secretary-Treasurer, Fish, Food and Allied Workers
Dan Edwards Fish harvester, United Fishermen and Allied Workers Union
Arran McPherson
(formerly Dave Gillis, retired)
Director General, Ecosystems and Oceans Science, DFO
Gastien Godin General Director, Coastal Zones Research Institute
David Burns
(formerly Greg Kealey, retired)
Vice-President (Research), University of New Brunswick
Dan Lane CFRN Scientist, University of Ottawa
Linda Martin
(formerly Sylvain Langlois)
Manager, NSERC
Jean-Jacques Maguire (Chair)* Fisheries consultant and Chair of Advisory Committee, International Council for the Exploration of the Sea
Murdoch McAllister CFRN Scientist, University of British Columbia
Peter Meisenheimer (Vice-Chair) General Manager, Anishinabek Ontario Fisheries Research Center
Scott Parsons Retired DFO
Robert Stephenson* CFRN Principal Investigator, University of New Brunswick and DFO
Pierre Verreault
(formerly John Sutcliffe, retired)
Executive Director, Canadian Council of Professional Fish Harvesters

*Non-voting member


Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee reports to the Board and is responsible for developing a plan for the Network research annually; submitting progress reports to the Board and NSERC; monitoring research progress and recommending any changes; and identifying actions needed to reach Network goals and milestones, among other duties.


Ginny Boudreau Manager, Guysborough County Inshore Fishermen’s Association
Villy Christensen CFRN Scientist, University of British Columbia
Dounia Daoud Scientific Coordinator, Homarus Inc.
Mike Hawkshaw CFRN Student, University of British Columbia
Jean Landry Director, Fish Population Science, DFO
Linda Martin
(formerly Sylvain Langlois)
Manager, NSERC
Marc Lanteigne Manager, Aquatic Resources Division, DFO
Wilf Luedke Biologist, DFO
Jim McIsaac Director of Sustainability, T. Buck Suzuki Foundation
Tom Nudds CFRN Scientist, University of Guelph
Courtenay Parlee CFRN Student, University of New Brunswick
Kevin Reid CFRN Student and Assessment Manager, Ontario Commercial Fisheries Association
Rémy Rochette CFRN Scientist, University of New Brunswick (Saint John)
George Rose CFRN Scientist, Memorial University of Newfoundland
Bernard Sainte-Marie Research Scientist, DFO
Kathy Scarfo President, West Coast Trollers Associations
Kevin Squires Fish harvester, Maritime Fishermen’s Union
Rob Stephenson (Chair) Principal Investigator, University of New Brunswick and DFO
Melanie Wiber CFRN Scientist, University of New Brunswick

*Invited observer


Independent Scientific Advisory Panel

The Independent Scientific Advisory Panel (ISAP) is a group of appointed scientists/experts external to the Network which reports to the Board.  The ISAP reviews the progress of the Network on an annual basis, and offers strategic scientific opinions on future Network activity.


Michael Berrill Professor Emeritus, Trent University
Rosemary Ommer Grantscrafter and Adjunct Professor, University of Victoria
Randall Peterman Professor and Canada Research Chair in Fisheries, Simon Fraser University
Michael Sinclair Scientist Emeritus, DFO
John Annala (retired 2013) Chief Scientific Officer, Gulf of Maine Research Institute


Implementation Team

The Implementation Team is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the Network and reports to the Board.  The duties of the Implementation Team include, but are not limited to, financial administration, communications and public relations activities, organizing and coordinating Network meetings, and promoting research collaboration among Network partners.


Marc Allain Facilitator and Research Associate
Jennifer Herne Administrative and Communications Coordinator, University of New Brunswick
Stacey Paul Biologist, DFO
José Benchetrit
(formerly Lisa Setterington)
DFO Liaison, DFO
Robert Stephenson Principal Investigator, University of New Brunswick and DFO
Susan Thompson Manager, University of New Brunswick